CSC_0495[1]

Black Bean and Corn Soup

CSC_0495[1]

A couple days ago, I was cleaning my glasses when I woke up, and unfortunately for me the right side of my glasses snapped off!  I just had an eye appointment today and should be getting some new frames in soon, but it has been quite challenging trying to get all of my daily activities + moving + playing violin + dealing with my car accident injuries without working eyes :/  At least now I have the new glasses to look forward to.  Hopefully I can get more motivation to start packing up the apartment…

This morning I decided to make a black bean and corn soup, which was an absolutely delicious start to the day!  It has a bit of a kick with the chipotle peppers and the fresh veggies make it a crisp, fresh soup to start off the day!  At the grocery store, they were out of the whole chipotle peppers (only had pre-diced), so I added 3 tsp of the pre-diced peppers.  It was the perfect amount of spice for me, but if you like it less hot I’d recommend 1-2 tsp pre-diced peppers.  Other than that, the soup works perfectly and you’ll have it ready in about 45 minutes start to finish!

 

YIELD: 4 servings

TIME: 45 minutes

CALORIES: 190 per 1-1/2 cups soup

 

INGREDIENTS
2 tsp olive oil
1 onion, peeled and chopped
1 carrot, peeled and chopped
1 celery stalk, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 chipotle pepper, canned in adobo sauce, minced
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp dried oregano
14 oz fire-roasted diced tomatoes
2 cups vegetable stock
14 oz black beans, drained
salt, to taste
1 cup frozen corn kernels
1 Tbsp cilantro, minced
juice from 1 lime

DIRECTIONS
Heat oil in a large pot and cook onion, celery, carrot, and garlic until softened.  Add chipotle pepper, cumin, and oregano, and saute for 2 minutes.  Stir in tomatoes, broth, and beans, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add salt to taste, and add corn, cilantro, and lime juice.  Pour in bowls and serve warm.

 

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

