DSC_0468[1]

Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

DSC_0468[1]

Hello world of wordpress, friends, and family!!  It has been a long while since I’ve posted on here – my last post was in March 2015!  Here are some of the things I’ve been up to:

  • Summer 2015: I went to Italy on a Tauck tour with my family through Rome, Florence, and Venice for a little over a week – AMAZING experience to see the sites and have a private tour of the Vatican museum (which houses the Sistine chapel).  The food there was unreal, such fresh ingredients!  More than that, it was incredible to experience house-made spaghetti carbonara and margherita pizza (spoiler alert – NOTHING like the $20 American version).  After my family tour, I attended two music festivals in Italy where I got to experience small towns in Italy.  There I really had to know the language, which was definitely a challenge!  Overall, I loved my time in Italy and I hope someday I can bring Charlie with me for a gondola ride 🙂
  • Fall 2015-Spring 2016: My last year of my Master’s Degree – I graduated a couple weeks ago!  It was the busiest and stressful semester of my life with school related issues and emotionally, but it taught me a very important lesson: I need to schedule more time for myself.

    In the middle of the semester, I was on my way to school when an 18-wheeler truck rear ended the back of my new Ford Fusion (bought in September), forced my car to spin out into the next lane, and I hit another dump truck.  I am incredibly lucky to be alive, and looking at the pictures of my former car still freaks me out.  I do have injuries, as most people in car accidents do.  I have four bulging discs, two in my neck and two in my lower back, and bone bruising in my ankles (yes, both of them).  I’ve taken time off with playing, and I am literally doing nothing all day except physical therapy.  Hopefully I can get better, but I have really taken a lot more perspective in my life – I guess that’s what a near-death experience does to you.

Currently I’ve been working on losing weight, and although these enchiladas look incredibly sinful, they are 500 calories per two enchiladas!  They are not traditional at all, but a very quick and easy weeknight meal.  Hope you guys enjoy!

YIELD: 7 servings

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
2-1/2 cups shredded, cooked chicken
1 cup onion, cooked until softened/grilled
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 can cream of chicken soup
16 oz sour cream
4 oz can diced green chiles
2 cups shredded Monterrey Jack cheese
2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
14 corn tortillas

DIRECTIONS
In a large bowl, combine chicken, onion, mushroom sou, chicken soup, sour cream, and green chiles, plus 1 cup each of the cheeses.  Pour 1/2 cup of the mixture of each tortilla and roll.  Place enchiladas in a 9×13″ pan (I had to use two of them) and top with remaining cheeses.  Bake at 350 F for 30-40 minutes, and serve warm.

 

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

