Apple Butter

CSC_0290[1]

Hi everybody!  Sorry for the lack of posts lately, but I’ve been on spring break!  It was incredibly relaxing, and I got to play all of the music I don’t normally get to in an average week – klezmer, bluegrass, folk, and jazz.  My mom’s birthday was on the 16th, which I unfortunately missed because of spring break, but I’d been planning her present for some time when I found the recipe in a magazine.  As a family, we used to take trips out to The Beef House in Covington, IN, and they had some of the best yeast rolls and apple butter in existence.  Seriously, that stuff is magical.  So I found a recipe for apple butter and knew I had to make her some!  I dolled it up with some mason jars and ribbon (polka dot, obviously), and she loved it!  Threw in some strawberry jam, too – I’ll post up the recipe for that soon.

The apple butter was very easy to make, but I will warn you – it is THICK.  By that I mean when you go to let the apples simmer, either wear long sleeves or prepare to burned by the bubbles.  I turned down the heat as low as I could go, but I still got splattered by boiling hot apple mixture.  Other than that, it’s very easy, flavorful, and unbelievably delicious!

YIELD: six 4 oz. jars (or 3 cups)

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
3 lbs Gala apples, peeled
1 cup apple cider
1-1/2 cups sugar, divided
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt

DIRECTIONS
Cut apples into 1-inch pieces. Bring apples, cider, and 1/2 cup sugar to a rolling boil over high heat. Cover, leaving lid slightly ajar, and boil 20 minutes or until apples are tender and most of the liquid has evaporated; stir every 5 minutes.

Blend cooked apples and cooking liquid in a blender until smooth. Return mixture to pot, and stir in cinnamon, cloves, and remaining 1 cup sugar. Bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to low, and simmer, uncovered and stirring often, 15 minutes or until thickened. Cool about 45 minutes and spoon into airtight containers or spread on freshly toasted bread.

Hope y’all enjoy!

❤ Sara

original recipe from Southern Living, September 2014

Leave a Reply

