DSC_0165[1]

Chinese-style Broccoli

DSC_0165[1]

Thursdays are always really long days, usually end at 9 pm.  But it’s always nice to come home after a long day and get my creative juices on with cooking 🙂

The recipe comes from a recipe book my mom gave me a long time ago, The Oratorio Singers at Ovens.  My grandmother lived in Charlotte, NC for a while, and this book was from the Oratorio Singers of Charlotte.  So lots of delicious southern recipes among other classics!  I found it in a box of stuff I hadn’t quite unpacked from my apartment, and was so glad I was able to find it!

This is possibly one of my favorite broccoli recipes I have ever made!  Very flavorful, but doesn’t overcook the broccoli to the point that it’s wilted.  Simple, easy, and absolutely delicious – hope you decide to try it!

YIELD: 2 servings

TIME: 20 minutes

INGREDIENTS
1 bunch broccoli
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp sugar
1 Tbsp cornstarch
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/8 tsp salt
2 Tbsp sherry

DIRECTIONS
Wash, slice, drain, and dry one bunch of broccoli.  Mix sugar, cornstarch, and soy sauce with chicken broth in a small bowl and set aside.  Heat wok and add oil, salt, and garlic.  Add broccoli and stir fry 2 minutes, then add sherry and stir fry an additional 2 minutes; cover.  Lift cover and add cornstarch mixture until the sauce thickens and broccoli reaches the correct consistency.

Hope y’all enjoy!

❤ Sara

original recipe from The Oratorio Singers at Ovens

Leave a Reply

