Blueberry Basil Lemonade

20150109_132432 (1)

Today is an unbelievably nice day outside.  What I mean by that: travel back in time to one year ago at this time.  I was super stressed out after getting reject letters mixed with acceptance letters for prescreening tapes for college, it was probably in the single digits temperatures, and probably getting ready for ECIYO’s Winter Concert.

This is today’s weather:

Screenshot_2015-01-20-17-07-50

It is freaking 80 degrees and sunny out in January, I have one of the easiest schedules known to man this semester (aside from performances, of course), and I just found out I’m going to be concertmaster for the UTSO concert on February 16!!!  *does happy dance*  Today is a great day.

This blueberry basil lemonade is absolutely the perfect drink for a sunny day like this.  So refreshing and easy to make – if I had more blueberries I’d totally be making some right now.  The original recipe came out a little bland for my taste, so I’d either add more lemon juice or sugar.  The basil adds a really interesting taste to it.  I’m not sure how I’d describe it, but maybe makes it a bit more of a refreshing drink.  Hope you decide to try it!

YIELD: 5 servings

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup lemon juice
2 cups blueberries
1/4 cup torn basil leaves
6 Tbsp sugar
4 cups water
ice

DIRECTIONS
Pour lemon juice in a pitcher, and pour in blueberries, basil, and sugar.  Muddle mixture, add water, and let stand 30 minutes.  Press through a fine sieve into a bowl and discard solids.  Return to pitcher and serve over ice.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe from Cooking Light

Leave a Reply

