Chicken Fricassee

20150107_202431

Not too long ago I organized all of my recipes on an Excel document, so all I have to do is check for the type of food I want and I can pick out any recipe in my arsenal without having to spend hours going through my recipe books!  When doing this, I went through my Joy of Cooking cookbook, and I have truly forgotten how many incredible recipes there are in there!  Not only are there wonderful recipes, but also incredibly informational tips on cooking that really have saved many a leftover meal.

Chicken Fricassee was an interesting one – I made this originally thinking that it would be a main chicken dish, but it ended up being more like a chicken soup!  I served this two ways: the night of I served it as a chicken main dish with the liquid base as more of a gravy; the night after that I served it as more of a soup and cut up the chicken pieces.

One option with this recipe is to use heavy cream; I thought I would try it just out of curiosity.  When you add the heavy cream it has more of a chicken and dumplings texture, but without creates more of a traditional chicken soup.

This is NOT a recipe that takes little time to make.  This recipe took a good chunk of time, probably 2 hours + because of prep-work and getting the soup base ready.  If it’s a cold weekend and you’re looking for a soothing dish, this is it.  If it’s a weeknight…I definitely wouldn’t suggest it.  Your guests might be waiting a while.

Hope you decide to try this – definitely worth making!

YIELD: 4-6 servings

TIME: 2 hours

INGREDIENTS
4 lbs chicken parts (thighs, drumsticks, breasts)
salt and pepper, to taste
4 Tbsp butter
1-1/2 cups onions, chopped
1/3 cup flour
2 cups hot water
1-3/4 cups chicken stock
8 ounces mushrooms
3 medium carrots, peeled and diced
3 celery stalks, diced
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 cup heavy cream, if desired
salt and pepper, to taste
fresh lemon juice, to taste

DIRECTIONS
Dredge chicken in salt and pepper, and melt butter in a large pot.  Cook chicken in batches 3-5 minutes on each side; remove to a plate.  Add onion to the pot for 5 minutes, and stir in flour for 1 minute stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and mix in hot water and chicken stock.  Whisk constantly and bring to a boil over high heat.  Add in mushrooms, carrots, celery, thyme, salt, and pepper.  Return chicken pieces to the pot with juices and bring to a simmer.  Reduce heat, cover, and cook for 20-30 minutes.  Skim the fat off the sides of the pot with a spoon, and stir in heavy cream if desired.  Season to taste with salt, pepper, and lemon.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe from Joy of Cooking

Leave a Reply

