Gingersnaps

20141219_140023

During vacation, most of my days have consisted of cleaning, cooking, playing videogames, and practicing at my apartment.  The only time I’ve stepped outside is to check the mail.  I suppose it had to do with the fact that it’s so cold (for Texas weather), around the 30’s and maybe 40’s, so staying in sounds much more ideal.  But last Friday I decided it was time for me to emerge from the cocoon of my apartment and be social.  I’ve been hanging out with friends a ton, and I’m so glad – it’s been nice to see people outside of school!!

These were the second of three Christmas cookies I made this year (the others were Spritz, seen in my blog about a year or so ago).  I tried to find a recipe of Gingersnaps that was more chewy – typically they are crispy but I like chewy cookies the best.  These are classic Christmas cookies, but obviously could be made any time during the year.  Hope you decide to try these!

YIELD: 36 cookies

TIME: 3 hours

INGREDIENTS
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup butter, melted
1 egg
1/4 cup molasses
2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1-1/2 teaspoons ground ginger
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 cup sugar

DIRECTIONS
Cream butter and brown sugar. Beat in egg and molasses. Combine the flour, ginger, baking soda, cinnamon and cloves; gradually add to brown sugar mixture until combined. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Shape dough into balls and roll in sugar. Place on greased baking sheets and bake at 350° for 9-11 minutes or until set. Cool for 1 minute before removing to wire racks.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe here

Leave a Reply

