Cheesy Chicken Casserole

20141109_194851

Today was one of the first cold days I’ve experienced in Texas in a long time—believe it or not it was 40 degrees outside!!  I had to wear my fuzzy sweater (which can withstand the midwest winters), which I thought would just hide in my closet forever.  However, it did remind me of the lovely fall midwest weather, which I will grudgingly admit I do miss!!

I made this chicken casserole, which was one of the recipes from Big Oven.  I thought this recipe had rice or pasta in it, but I didn’t realize it had no starches in it until I was just starting to make it.  Luckily I had some extra rice, so it all worked out.  This looks incredibly heavy and creamy…but the mixture of some cream, some half and half, water, and mascarpone cheese makes it almost a lighter cream sauce.  Usually I tend to feel a little bloated and heavy after eating an alfredo-based sauce, but this one I had no problems afterwards—I just wanted more!  It’s so yummy, and honestly would go great with a brown rice mix or whole wheat pasta.  Hope you decide to try!

YIELD: 4 servings

TIME: 2 hours

CALORIES: 336 per serving

INGREDIENTS
3 chicken breast halves
1/2 small onion, chopped
1/2 tsp salt
1 bay leaf
1 garlic clove, minced
1-1/2 celery tops (the leafy part)
5 oz frozen broccoli
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup half and half
1/2 cup water
8 oz mascarpone cheese
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 cup grated Parmesan, divided

DIRECTIONS
Boil water in a large pot, and add chopped onion, salt, bay leaf, garlic, and celery.  Carefully place chicken in the water and cook until done; slice thinly and set aside.

Cook broccoli according to package directions and place cooked broccoli on the bottom of an 8×8 square baking pan.

Preheat oven to 350 F, and blend cream, half and half, water, mascarpone, salt, and garlic powder until smooth and hot (not boiling); stir in 3/4 cup Parmesan.  Pour 1 cup of the cream sauce over the broccoli, and top with the chicken in an even layer.  Pour remaining sauce on top and sprinkle with 1/4 cup Parmesan.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, and let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

One thought on “Cheesy Chicken Casserole

  1. I really love your blog! Your posts are all amazing 🙂 I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other! I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a Reply

