Cheddar Chicken Chowder

20141109_121828

It’s been exactly one year since I started my food blog here on WordPress!  I’m so thankful to have found such a great layout for my blog, but not only that – the community here is remarkable!

When we moved into the apartment, Charlie built me a computer for my kitchen so I could look at recipes online without having to bring my laptop over.  He’d cringe every time I would come close to spilling something on the keyboard…ha.  Recently he found this program called Big Oven that has a database of 30,000 + recipes and you can organize them in a weekly calendar.  You can even make a shopping list compiled of all your recipes for the week, which is such a cool feature 🙂  I’m on my first week of this plan, and I have to say….meal planning is so easy, and eliminates so much more stress in my life.

I’ve been struggling with allergies throughout the week, and it’s been really tough on me since I’ve got about 1 month of school left until the long-awaited Christmas break!  This soup is really soothing, but isn’t too overly creamy because of the 1% milk.  Today is a “cold” day in Texas, 45-50 degrees outside, and this is just the perfect soup for cold days like today.

When making this, I ended up forgetting to add the frozen corn.  Other than that little mishap, it’s very easy to make, and a great lunchtime soup or appetizer for dinnertime.  Hope you decide to try it!

YIELD: 2 servings as a meal or 4 servings as a side

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
1 bacon slice, diced
1 boneless skinless chicken breast, diced
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
2-1/4 cups fat-free chicken broth
1 cup red potatoes, peeled and diced
1 cup frozen whole kernel corn
1/4 cup flour
1 cup 1% milk
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper

DIRECTIONS
Cook bacon until crisp, and remove from pan.  Add chicken, onion, and garlic to bacon fat for 5 minutes.  Add broth and potatoes and bring to a boil.   Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes; add corn and stir well.

Pour flour in a bowl, and gradually add milk until blended.  Add to soup and cook over medium heat for 15 minutes, until thickened.  Stir in cheese, salt, and pepper, and add in crumbled bacon.  Pour into bowls and serve with extra cheese if desired.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

