Pho Bo (Vietnamese Beef Soup)

20141007_195345

Sometimes you have weeks where you need some comfort food for dinner.  For me, the absolute best comfort food is Pho.  There are restaurants everywhere that make pho, but I really wanted to give it a try!

Now today, I was ready and prepared to make it from absolute scratch, with the beef marrow bones and charred vegetables, the whole nine yards….but I took an accidental long nap.  Whoops.  But I came across an old recipe I had for pho that was sort of less traditional, more of a quick recipe.  Now, since I have not ever made pho….it was not so quick.  Silly me, I forgot to cook the noodles ahead of time as the original recipe states, but I ended up boiling the noodles in the broth when it was done, and added the sprouts and beef when the noodles were almost done.  That actually worked perfectly, because the noodles soaked up some of the delicious broth.

One cool thing about making pho tonight: I got to use my meat slicer.  Charlie got me a meat slicer for Christmas last year, but I just was never able to use it….until tonight.  Having filet mignon sliced yourself just tastes that much better because the dollars are disappearing in thin air 🙂

The broth alone kind of tastes manmade since i didn’t make the beef broth by hand, but if you add the lime juice and other toppings, it really makes it taste that much more amazing.  At some point, I’m gonna try making it from scratch and will post it at another time.  But if you have a couple hours, definitely give this a try.  It’s yummy and delicious!  Even my Vietnamese boyfriend gave it two thumbs up and one pinky toe up 🙂

YIELD: 2 servings

TIME: 1.5 hours

INGREDIENTS
4 oz. dry rice stick noodles
4 cups beef stock
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1.5 Tablespoons Hoisin sauce
1 Tablespoons fish sauce
1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon five spice powder
8 lb filet mignon, sliced very thinly (or any other type of steak, this cut worked beautifully)
1 cup bean sprouts
1 lime, cut in wedges
1 jalapeno, sliced
Handful fresh cilantro leaves
Handful fresh mint leaves

DIRECTIONS
For the soup, place beef stock, onion, hoisin sauce, fish sauce, ginger, pepper, and five spice powder in a large stockpot. Bring to a boil, cover, and simmer over medium heat for 10 minutes.

Slice your steaks as thinly as possible across the grain.  Uncover beef broth mixture and cook noodles in mixture for 2 or more minutes, until noodles are soft.  About a minute before noodles are done, add in beef and bean sprouts.

Pour contents of soup into two bowls, and serve with toppings.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe here

Leave a Reply

