Chicken Stuffed with Prosciutto, Feta, and Spinach

20140714_200824

This is my last week before I quit all of my jobs.  The last week I teach my lovely students.  The last week my schedule is completely full.  I’m definitely having mixed feelings—looking forward to having two full weeks of nothingness (discluding my packing, ugh), but I am feeling so sad that I won’t see my students again and my jobs will be no more.

However, I finally have time to cook dinner so I thought I would experiment with a recipe!  I stuffed chicken breasts with prosciutto, feta cheese, and spinach, and it turned out amazingly!!  Now, I know many of you (including my mother and father) hate feta cheese vehemently, so you could always substitute with a lighter cheese, such as Parmesan or Mozzarella.  It’s a great weeknight dinner, full of flavor and goes great with sauteed fresh vegetables and rice!

YIELD: 2 servings

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
2 boneless and skinless chicken breasts, trimmed
poultry seasoning
1/2 cup spinach leaves, divided
1/4 cup feta cheese crumbles, divided
1 slice prosciutto, cut in half vertically

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 F, and brown the chicken 5-8 on each side, until cooked through.  Slice chicken on one half until you form a pocket, and stuff each with spinach leaves, feta cheese, and prosciutto.  Place in a square Pyrex dish and bake for 20 minutes, until feta cheese has started to become soft.  Let sit for a couple minutes, and serve with fresh vegetables.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

