Egg Noodles with Smashed Peas, Italian Sausage, and Low-fat Ricotta

20140519_200141_Richtone(HDR)

I love pasta.  Oh man, I could seriously eat spaghetti and/or noodles every day of the week for the rest of my life and be happy.  However, I would be a seriously overweight person if I ever decided to do that….so I must eat noodles wisely 🙂

I’ve had my eye on this recipe for quite some time, and I must say—the finished product turned out much better than I expected.  It’s a very light tasting dish, but the ricotta almost makes it taste like you’re eating a cream sauce without the guilt!  The original recipe calls for pappardelle, but since I didn’t feel like driving the extra 15 minutes to a specialty foods store which might have what I was looking for….I just went with egg noodles.  My favorite is the “No Yolks” egg noodles, which my family always used whenever making those sinful dishes (Beef Stroganoff, etc).  I also had a hard time smashing the peas, so I’d say 1/3 were smashed.  Depends on your preference!  With 350 calories per serving, it is a great weeknight meal–very quick and easy.  Hope you decide to try!

YIELD: 8 servings

TIME: 45 minutes

CALORIES: 351 per 2 scoops (1 cup) of noodles

INGREDIENTS
12 oz egg noodles OR 1 lb pappardelle noodles
1 Tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 links Italian sausage
1 lb frozen peas, thawed
1 cup low-fat ricotta cheese
1 bunch fresh basil, chopped
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 tsp salt

DIRECTIONS
Cook pasta in boiling, salted water according to package directions.  Drain and reserve 1 cup of the pasta water.  Heat olive oil and saute garlic until fragrant, about 3-4 minutes.  Remove sausage from casing and cook until browned.  Scoot over to one side of the pan, and on the other side pour in the thawed peas.  Smash the peas as best you can, either with a whisk or pastry cutter.

Remove from heat and add ricotta cheese; mix until well blended.  Toss with cooked pasta, and gradually pour in pasta water until a sauce forms.  Add basil, parmesan cheese, and salt until mixed together.  Pour into bowls and eat immediately.  This can be served hot or cold; depends on your preference!

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe here

Leave a Reply

