Chicken Noodle Soup

20140424_123106_Richtone(HDR)

Poor Charlie is sick today!  He ate too many of my Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes, haha 😛  All jokes aside, he was very sick last night, and had to miss work today.  I thought I would make him a yummy rendition of chicken noodle soup.  Nothing more soothing and delicious than that!

I used some of my leftover vegetables from the Tempura I made for Easter (Japanese fried vegetables, recipe which I will post soon), so I used those veggies in the soup!  Really any vegetables work great in chicken noodle soup, but my favorite is celery.  The calorie count came out a little high for soup, so I’d recommend eating this as a meal.  I just had some for lunch, and I’m pretty full!  If you want to make it more low-cal, you could try using a reduced sodium chicken stock and/or use whole-wheat noodles (or omitting the noodles).  Also–I used chicken thighs which I feel like adds more flavor, but using chicken breasts or even turkey would probably reduce the calories in the soup.

Whether you try the reduced fat options or not….it is SO good.  Sick or not, it is a perfect soup for a day of relaxation.  Hope you decide to try it!

YIELD: 10 servings

TIME: 1 hour

CALORIES: 242 calories per 1 cup of soup

INGREDIENTS
8 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 Tbsp olive oil
3 chicken thighs, trimmed and cubed
10.5 cups water
3 Knorr concentrated chicken stock
salt and pepper, to taste
3/4 cup broccoli florets
1/3 cup zucchini, peeled and cubed
1/3 cup celery, diced
3/4 pkg egg noodles

DIRECTIONS
Heat oil in a large pot until hot.  Saute garlic and onion for 2-3 minutes, until soft and fragrant.  Add cubed chicken and cook until no longer pink in the middle.  Add water and add salt and pepper to taste.  Wait for the water to boil, and add the Knorr stock.  Let boil for 2-3 minutes and check seasonings; add more water if necessary.  Add broccoli and celery for 30 seconds; add zucchini.  Gradually pour in egg noodles and cook for 10 minutes, checking occasionally to stir the soup together.  Remove from heat and adjust seasonings as necessary.  Serve 1 cup of the soup into bowls, and serve immediately.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

