Broiled Perch with Tomatoes and Fennel

20140419_201752

mmmm, I love fish.  It doesn’t take long to cook, and it’s extremely healthy for you!  Now that I’m watching my weight a little bit more these days, I’m going to start making a lot more fish dishes.  Perch is one of my absolute favorite white fishes—flaky, juicy, and always delicious!  Most recipes for perch are fried, but I decided to broil mine.

Funny story—I found this recipe in an old recipe book for broiled striped bass with tomatoes and fennel, and decided to try it!  However….striped bass is apparently really hard to find!  I was in the grocery store and saw some perch which looked delicious AND lower in price…so I figured I’d give it a shot.  Perch does have bones; I don’t know about you, but I HATE picking out a lot of bones in the fish.  I picked out a total of 6 bones, which really isn’t too much if you think about it.

This is a great weekday meal, very light and easy!  I love the broiled grape tomatoes with the white fish….gah, I just want more!  I’d highly recommend this dish with broccoli or asparagus, maybe some brown rice if you want a complete meal.  Or do as I did, and just eat the fish itself with those yummy olives and grape tomatoes 🙂

YIELD: 4 servings

TIME: 30-40 minutes

CALORIES: 140 per filet

INGREDIENTS
1 lb perch filets (I used four filets)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp dried oregano leaves
1 lemon, zested
1 Tbsp lemon juice
salt and pepper, to taste
3 Tbsp olive oil, divided
1 large bulb fennel, with stalks and fronds
1 pint grape tomatoes
1 cup Kalamata olives, with juice

DIRECTIONS
Preheat broiler.  Make diagonal slashes through the center of the fish, 1/4″ deep and 2″ intervals across the fish.  Mix garlic, oregano, lemon zest, lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste, and 2 Tbsp oil until combined.  Rub on top of the fish, rubbing into the slashes as best as you can.  Place fish on a baking sheet, about 2″ apart from each other.

Thinly slice the fennel bulb, and place in a medium sized mixing bowl with cherry tomatoes, olives and juice, and remaining Tbsp oil.  Mix well, and spread evenly on top of the fish.  Broil for 8-10 minutes, until fish is cooked evenly and some of the tomatoes and olives have wrinkled.

Divide among 4 plates, and serve with a healthy serving of olives, tomatoes, and fennel.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe from Martha Stewart Living, July/August 2013

Leave a Reply

