Chicken Enchilada Casserole

20140414_222622_Richtone(HDR)

As of today, I have made it official—I will be attending the University of Texas at Austin for my Masters of Music in Violin Performance!!!  Charlie and I are so excited about moving, especially with this crazy snow tonight.  Yes, SNOW IN APRIL.  So furious.  UT just seemed to be the most logical decision for my education, and for Charlie’s current job market.  I just hope Kikko can get used to the heat!

So, on to the casserole.  IT IS EPIC.  Possibly the best thing I have ever eaten in my life.  Charlie said it is one of the best things I have ever made for him!  It is perfect for something to make early in the day and to heat up after a long day.  I would say it’s the epitome of comfort food.

Because I live in central Illinois, there were no poblano peppers at our local grocery store.  I used one green pepper instead, and it worked out just fine!  Regarding the chicken, you can either shred it or do what I did—just cube it.   It takes a heck of a lot less time, and it still will taste epic.

If you love comfort food and mexican food, just do me a favor and make this.  MAKE THIS TOMORROW.  You’ll thank me later 🙂

YIELD: 10 servings

TIME: 2 hours

CALORIES: 660.5

INGREDIENTS
1/2 white onion, diced
1 poblano pepper, seeded and diced
2 Tbsp olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 (10-3/4 oz) cans Heart Healthy cream of chicken soup
8 oz low fat sour cream
1 can diced green chiles (I used mild)
1 cup low fat chicken broth
1 oz envelope taco seasoning mix
18 corn tortillas, quartered
2-1/2 lbs boneless skinless chicken thighs, cubed
16 oz shredded extra-sharp Cheddar cheese
16 oz shredded pepper Jack cheese

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 F, and cook chicken until no pink remains.  Heat a large saute pan with olive oil over medium high heat.  Saute onion and peppers for 5 minutes, until soft.  Add garlic for 1 minute, and stir in soup, sour cream, chiles, chicken broth, and taco seasoning until combined.  Remove from heat and spread 1 cup soup mixture in a 13×9″ baking dish.  Arrange 24 tortilla quarters, slightly overlapping, over the soup.  Top with half the chicken and spread evenly.  Sprinkle 8 oz cheddar and 8 oz pepper jack on top of chicken.  Spread 1-1/2 cups soup mixture on top of the cheese, and repeat layers until everything is used up (you may have some soup mixture leftover).  Bake for 45-50 minutes, until bubbly and golden brown.  Let stand 15 minutes before serving.

Once consumed, make sure you enjoy the epicness for at least 30 minutes.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe from Southern Living, January 2014

Leave a Reply

