Rosemary Veal Stew

20140226_195405_Richtone(HDR)

It is SO cold here!!  Currently it is 17 degrees, but feels like 6 degrees because of the wind chill.  I don’t know if it’s the cold weather or the fact that things are a little less stressful, but I have just been in a crazy cleaning mood!  I’ve been keeping the house pristinely clean—dusting, polishing, and doing dishes every night.  It’s certainly been nice having a clean place 🙂

I’m traveling to Austin this weekend for the Yehudi Menuhin violin competition this weekend, but since Charlie’s version of cooking is easy mac and McDonald’s, I thought I’d make some yummy dishes for him to heat up.  First of the three is this veal stew.  I made this around lunchtime, and I seriously had to have a double-take on the time—it took an hour and 15 minutes to make, prep and cooking!  The spices itself make the stew so wonderful, but if you want to add more spice and flavor I might recommend adding 1/4 tsp or more crushed red pepper and a bit more salt and pepper.  The original recipe is with lamb, but all I could find at my local grocery store was veal.  Sometimes if you look in asian grocery stores you can find lamb tenderloin, if you’d like the authentic real recipe!

Girls: I got my boyfriend who says he doesn’t like onions and carrots to eat the onions and carrots in this stew.  Make this and feel as accomplished as I do 🙂  This is the absolute perfect cold-weather stew; hope you enjoy!

YIELD: 3-4 servings

TIME: 1 hour 15 minutes

INGREDIENTS
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 Tbsp olive oil
3 carrots, peeled and sliced
2-1/2 cups diced veal
2 garlic cloves, minced
14-1/2 oz can stewed tomatoes
1/2 cup chicken broth
1 rosemary sprig
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp salt

DIRECTIONS
Saute onion in olive oil over medium high heat for 3-4 minutes, until tender.  Add carrots and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes.  Add veal and garlic, and cook stirring constantly for 3 minutes.  Stir in tomatoes, broth, and rosemary.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium low, and simmer stirring occasionally for 30 minutes.  Stir in salt and pepper, and discard rosemary sprig.  Serve over rice.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe from Southern Living March 2014 issue

Leave a Reply

