Buttermilk Pancakes

20131206_072424

Ahh, breakfast.  Usually I can’t get up until about 7 am, but this morning I was actually capable of waking up at 6:30!  Whoa.  Buttermilk pancakes have to be my favorite breakfast item in the world.  I don’t typically like stuff in them (chocolate chips, fruit, etc) unless I’m in the mood, but I am always in the mood for a great pancake.  I have tried a dozen recipes from online blogs, etc…but this morning I realized I had not looked at the bible of recipes yet—The Joy of Cooking.  One of my goals when I was a young girl was to attempt to cook everything in that book.  Obviously if I tried doing that, it would take me more than a lifetime, but I do want to try making more recipes from Joy of Cooking!  They have some amazing recipes in there, one of which are these pancakes.  Best buttermilk pancakes I have ever made.  EVER.

One cool trick I use is to put the pancakes in the oven.  Looking at the Joy of Cooking, their suggestion worked great for keeping pancakes in the oven.  You want to arrange the pancakes so they are slightly overlapping on a baking sheet, preheated to 200 F, lightly brushed with melted butter, and loosely with foil on top.  They say to leave it in the oven about 20 minutes, and it worked great!  The pancakes were hot, buttery, and amazing.

Luckily these pancakes did not take long at all, and they made a total of 8 pancakes.  Freeze the rest, and you’ve got breakfast for 2-3 more days!  Hope you guys enjoy 🙂

YIELD: 8 pancakes

TIME: 30-40 minutes

INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 cups flour
3 Tbsp sugar
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1-1/2 cups buttermilk
3 Tbsp melted butter
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla

DIRECTIONS
Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda together in a large bowl.  In a medium bowl, whisk buttermilk, melted butter, eggs, and vanilla, and pour over dry ingredients.  Gently whisk together until combined.  Pour 1/3 cup batter on a heated and buttered griddle or pan.  Cook until the top has bubbles and is golden brown on the other side, flip, and cook until done.  Serve immediately with extra butter and syrup, or keep in a 200 F oven lightly brushed with butter.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

originally adapted from The Joy of  Cooking

Leave a Reply

