Chicken Breasts with Tomatillo Ranch Sauce

20131203_213646

Hello friends, it has been a while since I last posted on here!  I have been super busy with grad school applications, etc…whew, the schools require so much these days!  Hopefully I’ll do alright with the first round of the application.

Now that all of that is done, I’m trying to find the time to cook at home a little bit more.  Looking for recipe ideas, I came across this one, and thought the sauce sounded amazing!  After creating the chicken, I noticed the sauce is EXACTLY like my favorite enchilada sauce in the entire world—-Chuy’s (in Austin, TX), Deluxe Chicken Enchiladas.  If any of you have tried these, this sauce is nearly identical, and so easy to make!  Just chop up all of the ingredients minus the chicken, blend it in a food processor or blender, and that’s it!  I marinated the sauce in the chicken and reheated it so we could have fresh sauce to dip our chicken breasts in.

The only suggestions I’d offer with this recipe is to let the chicken marinate all day or overnight.  I let them marinate for about 30 minutes, and they were still full of flavor, but I think the chicken would be more moist if they were sitting in the marinade for a bit longer.

I served the chicken with brown rice and peas, and by the way—peas and this tomatillo sauce are AMAZING.  Seriously I think I’ll have that for lunch today.  Anyway, please try it and let me know what you think!

YIELD: 2 servings (could be up to 6 servings)

TIME: 2 hours

INGREDIENTS
1 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 package Hidden Valley ranch dressing mix
3 cloves garlic
1 cup minced cilantro
5 tomatillos, husked and chopped
lime juice from 1 lime
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts (can be as many as 6)

DIRECTIONS
Blend mayo, buttermilk, ranch dressing mix, garlic, cilantro, tomatillos, and lime juice until smooth.  Pour into a ziploc bag and carefully arrange chicken breasts in the bag.  Seal and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes, and preheat oven to 375 F.  Place chicken breasts in a square Pyrex dish, and pour remaining marinade in a saucepan.  Bake chicken breasts for 30-35 minutes, and heat up remaining marinade over medium low heat.  Serve with extra sauce, brown rice, and peas for the ultimate result.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

