Barbecue Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

20131013_175757

As a working musician and girl in my mid-twenties, I always run into the problem of cooking dinner.  Even with those “30 minute meals” that Rachael Ray so adorably advertises, I still find that I’m eating dinner by 8:30 or 9 pm, which is pretty late since Charlie and I go to bed by 10:30!  So, after chatting with my friend Julia and some long thought….I have officially joined the Crock Pot world.  Charlie’s mom very nicely bought me a cute red one 6 months ago, but I have never used it.  Until today.

Here’s a picture of the meat after a hard day at work and after I shredded it.  YUM:

20131013_174350

I LOVE my pulled pork sandwiches.  They are just so full of flavor and delicious!  But I thought I would try an option a little lower in calories, pulled chicken!  I used Stubb’s barbecue sauce—I couldn’t believe they had it at the grocery store here in Illinois!  Stubb’s was one of my favorite barbecue places and concert venues in Austin, TX while growing up there 🙂  I literally threw the frozen chicken in the Crock Pot, mixed in the ingredients, set the pot on LOW heat, and 6 hours later it was pretty much ready to serve!  I served the sandwiches with some zucchini sauteed in olive oil and minced garlic, but it would also go great with some coleslaw, either on the side or lathered on top.

YIELD: 4 servings

TIME: 6 hours 15 minutes

INGREDIENTS
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 cup barbecue sauce
6 whole wheat hamburger buns

DIRECTIONS
Add all ingredients to the crockpot, cover, and set on low heat.  Let cook for 6 hours, and shred meat with two forks.  Serve warm in hamburger buns.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe: http://www.mysanfranciscokitchen.com/pulled-bbq-chicken-sandwiches/

One thought on “Barbecue Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

