Chocolate Raspberry Pots de Crème

20130825_203448_Richtone(HDR)

Hello readers!  I hope you’re enjoying the last bits of summer before the school year starts!  This weekend was definitely a memorable weekend.  I had my Sinfonia da Camera audition, which I was fairly nervous for….last year I had only made it on the sub list, and I did a HORRIBLE job (couldn’t find a parking spot, ran to my audition, ended up being a little late for work…the list goes on).  But this year I got there 30 minutes early to be on the safe side, lol, and I was feeling really good about the excerpts.  Although I didn’t work on them as long as I would have liked to, I worked really hard on them during the week and hoped I’d do well.  I ended up doing great—only made a couple of minor mistakes throughout the whole thing!  It may not have been as confident as those who have done the audition thing 4731478074 times, but I’ll get there!

So after that audition, I went with Charlie to the junkyard in Chebanse, IL!  It was really cool—I traded in my dresses and heels for a dirty Tire Barn t-shirt, jeans, tennies, and car repair gloves (red, of course!).  We’re in the last steps of finishing up Charlie’s Mirage Coupe…just weeks away from getting it to run!  He found a car out in the junkyard that had several of the parts we needed, so we went up there to grab them.  I really only took out a handful of screws and didn’t do much of the hard work, but it was definitely different kind of work than I’m used to!  I did help take out a rear view mirror, which was pretty awesome!

When I woke up the next morning and put on my usual dress, I was like “Whoa.  Who am I?  I look so different than yesterday!”  But Charlie ended up having a couple that helped us at the junkyard, Matty and Felicia, come over for dinner.  I made Pastel Azteca, a casserole with chicken, fresh veggies, tortilla chips, and this creamy delicious sauce mixed in with salsa….SO good.  Maybe I’ll post up the recipe tomorrow.  For dessert I made this little number, and after that we played a board game and Mario Kart!  Definitely a fun night, and a great end to a fantastic weekend!  🙂

Okay, on to the recipe now!  This recipe requires using a vanilla bean—I have actually never tried using a vanilla bean before, but it’s surprisingly not too difficult!  I went to County Market and found one no problem in their packaged spices kiosk, but you might want to call your local grocery store ahead of time if you’re not sure.  You just take a fairly sharp paring/small knife and cut through the center.  These little vanilla beans look like smooshed rabbit poop, so it might look gross, but if you look carefully, they are just tons of little beans that form this black paste!  I just took a small spoon and mixed it into the pot of milk.  It’s pretty self-explanatory from here, and the pots de crème is DIVINE.  I don’t think any of you will have a problem devouring this dessert.

YIELD: 6 small ramekins, but you could get more chocolaty goodness with 2-4 ramekins

TIME: 1 hour 30 minutes + time to let chill

INGREDIENTS
2 eggs + 1 egg yolk
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2 cups whole milk
1 vanilla bean, split open and seeds scraped out
100 grams dark chocolate, 64% cocoa (I used the brand Chocolove xoxox, “Rich Dark Chocolate”)
2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
whipped cream

DIRECTIONS
Scrape vanilla bean seeds into the milk in a small pot.  Toss in vanilla beans and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, remove from heat, cover, and let sit for 30 minutes.  Melt chocolate over a double boiler and set aside.  Preheat oven to 320° F, and beat eggs with sugar.  Add the hot milk slowly while beating, and add melted chocolate and cocoa.  Pour into small ramekins and place ramekins in a large dish, filling halfway with hot water.  Place in the oven for 30 minutes, take the ramekins out, and let cool.  Place plastic wrap on top and chill in the fridge.  When ready to serve top with 3 raspberries and whipped cream.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

One thought on “Chocolate Raspberry Pots de Crème

Leave a Reply

