White Chocolate Cupcakes with Raspberry Buttercream Frosting

20130816_094105_Richtone(HDR)

It’s always nice to know people like what I’m baking.  Sometimes I bake things for parties and events and make Charlie take the leftovers to work or I take them to my work, and people don’t really always tell me how it tastes.  But my absolute FAVORITE part is when I get to look at peoples’ reactions 🙂

My coworker Annie asked me to bake some cupcakes for Eric who is our intern in the repair shop.  Of course I said yes—but the night before I was playing a gig outside of the Red Herring with my student’s band, An Evening With Your Mother.  Little did I know that I’d be a little tipsy with some Knob Creek bourbon, partying it up with high school students!  It was like 11:30 and I was thinking “MAN THIS IS FUN OMG….wait…I’m partying with high school kids.”  And then I just started to feel so old.  So I went home and cuddled with my cats and Charlie, and everything was better.

However, this morning I woke up at 7:30 am, which was MUCH later than I anticipated.  I quickly got up, figured out what to make, went to the grocery store, and was in the kitchen by 8:10.  So far so good!  Made the cupcakes, let them cool, made the frosting, spread them on cupcakes, and was out the door by 9:40 (work started at 10).  Folks, it is officially possible to make cupcakes in 1 hour 30 minutes.  I do declare!

These are usually supposed to be filled with raspberry filling (omg YUM), but I stupidly read my directions wrong so I only had enough to use my raspberry puree for the frosting.  Other than that little hiccup, everything turned out beautifully!  I’d definitely recommend piping on the frosting, but for lack of time I just spread my frosting on top.  Doesn’t look as pretty as usual, but whatever—they taste AMAZING.

These cupcakes would be perfect for a 2nd birthday party or some cute, girly event.  I kinda felt terrible giving these to a guy repair technician, haha, but didn’t really occur to me that the frosting would be pink until AFTER I made it.  They taste so heavenly, so even the manliest of men will love them!

YIELD: 16 cupcakes

TIME: 1 hour 30 minutes (if you’re not rushing like I did this morning, probably more like 2 hours)

INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
4 oz white chocolate, chopped
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup + 1 Tbsp milk

24 oz raspberries
1/2 cup sugar
2 Tbsp cornstarch

2 sticks butter
half of raspberry puree
6 cups powdered sugar

white chocolate chips
fresh raspberries

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 325 F and line muffin tins.  Mix flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl, and melt white chocolate over medium heat.  Cream butter and sugar together and add eggs one at a time.  Mix in white chocolate and vanilla extract.  Alternately add dry ingredients and milk into the batter, starting and ending with dry ingredients.  Divide batter into cupcake tins and bake 18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool.

Puree raspberries until smooth, and strain through a fine sieve into a saucepan until all of the juice is collected in the pan.  Discard seeds and add sugar and cornstarch to the raspberry juice.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring often.  Remove from heat and let cool.  Divide mixture into two equal parts.

Cream butter and one part of the raspberry mixture until well mixed, and gradually add in powdered sugar until consistency is reached.

To assemble the cupcakes, use a paring knife to make a small cone out of each of the cupcakes.  Pour raspberry filling inside and pipe frosting on top.  Top each cupcake with a white chocolate chip and/or a fresh raspberry.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipes:
http://www.traceysculinaryadventures.com/2011/06/white-chocolate-raspberry-cupcakes.html#.Ug5jBdKJHTo
http://www.traceysculinaryadventures.com/2011/06/double-chocolate-raspberry-cupcakes.html#.Ug5jHtKJHTo

Leave a Reply

