Pork Chops in a Sherry Shallot Sauce with Garlic Mashed Potatoes

2013-08-01 11.44.30

Last night Charlie and I had a little dinner party with a couple of friends.  It was really fun, but I was a little nervous about finishing dinner on time since Charlie invited them over at 6:00, which is the time I get off work.  Luckily I did some prep-work beforehand, so I was able to make dinner in 30-45 minutes!  SUCCESS.

For the garlic mashed potatoes, I used Paula Deen’s recipe, which is essentially foolproof—that woman knows her way around her southern staples!  I used 1 huge clove of garlic and 3 little cloves, but that still didn’t have enough garlic taste in my opinion!  So, I sprinkled a little garlic salt and about 1 tsp garlic powder, and it had that perfect garlic taste.  I prefer my mashed potatoes on the creamy side, so I added more milk than 1 Tbsp until it reached the consistency I wanted.  I’d also recommend adding parsley and some pepper, but it’s still good without it.

The original recipe I used actually uses pork tenderloin that is cubed over rice, but I saw pork chops at the store and thought I’d improvise the recipe just a little bit.  I let the tenderloins sit all day in the fridge dredged with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  The longer you baste the pork tenderloin with the finished sauce, the better 🙂  The original recipe also uses mushrooms, which would taste amazing, but Charlie is allergic.  Don’t worry—it was still fantastic.  Your belly will be filled with boozy shalloty pork goodness by the time you finish this.  Trust me, this is a good thing.  You’ll thank me later.

YIELD: 4-5 servings

TIME: 45 minutes

INGREDIENTS
1 Tbsp olive oil
4 pork chops
salt and pepper, to taste
garlic powder
1 Tbsp butter
1 shallot, minced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp cornstarch
1 Tbsp cold water
1/2 cup Sherry
1/2 cup beef broth or more, depending on how much sauce you want
1 tsp thyme, chopped
1 Tbsp parsley, chopped

3 medium potatoes, peeled and chopped
4 Tbsp butter
1/4 cup sour cream
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp or more milk
salt and pepper
fresh chopped parsley

DIRECTIONS
Dredge salt, pepper, and garlic powder on both sides of the pork chops, and let marinate 30 minutes or more.  Heat oil and brown pork until very little red parts remain; set aside.  In the same skillet, add 1 Tbsp butter, shallots, and garlic until slightly caramelized.  Combine cornstarch and water and make into a paste.  Pour into skillet and add the Sherry.  Deglaze the pan, lower heat, and add beef broth.  Place pork in the skillet and let the liquid simmer for 10 minutes or more, basting the pork until ready to serve.

For the mashed potatoes, boil the potatoes in salted boiling water for 15 minutes, or until tender.  Drain the potatoes and return to the saucepan.  Add butter, sour cream, and garlic, and blend potatoes with a hand mixer or whisk.  Gradually add milk 1 Tbsp at a time until consistency of the mashed potatoes is reached.  Add salt and pepper, to taste and top with fresh parsley.

Assemble the entree with a large dollop of mashed potatoes with the pork chop on top.  Serve with extra Sherry sauce on top of the pork.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

original recipe for pork: http://joelens.blogspot.com/2011/10/pork-in-sherry-mushroom-sauce.html
original recipe for mashed potatoes: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/garlic-mashed-potatoes-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

