Chicken Tortilla Soup

20130711_203028

Charlie and I have been sick, unfortunately!  Thus why there haven’t been too many home-cooked meals.  Maybe it makes me an insufficient adult but it’s really hard/impossible for me to cook while feverish and sick!

Anywho, now that I’m feeling better I figured the best way to make Charlie feel better was with some homemade chicken tortilla soup.  I tend to like the tortilla soups that are more broth-like, ala Guero’s Taco Bar in Austin (if you haven’t been there, try their chicken soup—trust me, you’ll thank me later).  This one was pretty close, but not exactly the same.  I have always wanted to try to figure out how to recreate that recipe….I’ll let you guys know when I reach the epiphany.

Making this soup was pretty easy, but a little time consuming.  I recommend using boneless chicken thighs instead of the breasts.  The dark meat really soaks up the flavor and adds more richness to the soup without adding more ingredients.  To decrease the spice (since Charlie doesn’t like spicy foods) I added about 3 cups of water.  It was plenty spicy, and honestly I could’ve only used 10 oz diced tomatoes to lessen the spice.  The longer you let the veggies marinate in the broth, the better—hope you enjoy!

YIELD: 8-10 servings

TIME: 1 hour 30 minutes

INGREDIENTS
10-1/2 cups chicken broth
20 oz Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles (I used mild, and that was plenty spicy!)
1 small yellow onion, chopped
1 cup chopped carrots
1 cup chopped celery (3-4 ribs)
salt and pepper, to taste
6 chicken thighs
1 cup chopped cilantro
tortilla chips, crumbled or tortilla strips
shredded Mexican cheese
sour cream
avocado slices
lime juice

DIRECTIONS
Brown chicken in a skillet, and chop up into bite-size pieces.  While chicken is cooking, combine chicken broth, diced tomatoes, onion, carrots, and celery in a large pot.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 10-15 minutes.  Adjust seasonings with salt and pepper and add water if soup is too spicy.  Add chicken and simmer for 10 minutes.  Sprinkle tortilla chips and cilantro at the bottom of the soup bowls and pour soup on top.  Sprinkle cheese on top with sour cream and avocado slices.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

adapted from here

Leave a Reply

