Stuffed Jumbo Shells

20130628_210033

Hi everyone!  I just got back from a 5-day vacation in Austin, Texas….what a fun trip!!  It was great to see my parents and my brother while I was there 🙂  Miki (my brother, recent graduate of Juilliard) is leaving for Brazil in a couple of days, so I was really thankful to see him while in town.  He played this awesome show with his band The Broken Notes, and I simutaneously contracted 30 mosquito bites while at the show, but I was really pleased I got to see him play!  There’s something magical about coming home to the place where you grew up.  Hopefully it won’t be as long before I get to go back to Austin.

But the greatest thing was coming back home and seeing how happy Charlie was to see me.  It was 1:45 am, I had been in airports and planes for 7 hours that day, but I’ve never seen him so happy.  It’s nice to be back home, visit with the cat, and just live the amazing life I normally live.

Yesterday, we invited our dear friend Lloyd over for dinner.  He had had a terrible day, and I thought that eating a home-cooked meal would be the best thing.  I saw this recipe of stuffed shells pretty recently, and I’ve always wanted to try making them!  It’s pretty foolproof, but the only thing I would suggest looking out for is cooking the shells.  Use a slotted spoon to stir the shells, and make sure not to break them.  They’re extremely delicate, so treat them with care!  Other than that, they’re easy to make and so yummy!  Hope you decide to make these!

YIELD: 4 servings

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
18 Jumbo pasta shells
1 onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1 lb ground beef
4 oz Parmesan cheese, grated
8 oz Mozzarella cheese, cubed
2 Tbsp parsley, chopped
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
2 eggs, beaten
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
2-1/2 cups tomato sauce
extra shredded cheese (I used Mexican blend cheese, but parmesan or mozzarella should work fine)
2 sprigs parsley, per serving

DIRECTIONS
Cook shells in a large pot for 10 minutes; drain.  Saute onion and garlic for 1-2 minutes, until fragrant, and add beef.  Brown and transfer to a mixing bowl.  Preheat oven to 375 F and add breadcrumbs, eggs, Parmesan, Mozzarella, salt, pepper, and parsley to the beef mixture.  Stuff shells and lay in a 9×13″ baking dish.  Top with tomato sauce and sprinkle with cheese.  Bake 30 minutes, let cool, and top each serving with two sprigs of parsley.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

adapted from here

One thought on “Stuffed Jumbo Shells

Leave a Reply

