Chicken Breasts with Creamy Chive Sauce

20130619_204513

The last couple of days I have been feeling really sick!  I don’t know why, but my stomach has not been liking ANYTHING that I have consumed.  I’ve had fresh watermelon, homecooked healthy-ish meals, nothing really terrible for me….but maybe I’m just ready for a vacation in Austin 🙂  I’m visiting my parents in Austin, TX starting on Sunday, and I’m SO excited!  I haven’t been to Austin since last Easter, when my boyfriend met my parents for the first time.  I’m excited to see Town Lake, Amy’s Ice Cream, Barton Springs….ahh man, can’t wait!

Charlie’s been working on the car with his friend Trey, on the exhaust in his car.  After a few days they finally got it fixed—the amount of work they did was astounding!  Luckily with summer and its wonderful free time, I was able to make dinner both nights they were working on the car.  The chicken turned out really well, and the sauce is amazing!  The chives add a really nice flavor to the wine sauce.

Be careful with browning the chicken: I was extra careful since I had huge chicken breasts to brown, but the chicken ended up turning out a little dry.  Other than that, the sauce was easy to make and very tasty.  If you want a low calorie option, the sauce tasted just as good without the sour cream (in fact I think I like it a little better), and not as rich.  But it’s really up to your personal preference!

YIELD: 4 servings

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, 1 lb total
1 tsp salt, divided
1/4 cup + 1 Tbsp flour, divided
3 tsp olive oil, divided
1 shallot, chopped
1/2 cup white wine
14 oz can chicken broth
1/3 cup sour cream
1/2 cup chopped chives

DIRECTIONS
Pound the chicken breasts so they are thinner, around 1/2.”  Press 1/2 tsp into the chicken breasts and dredge in flour.  Heat 2 tsp olive oil in a large skillet and brown chicken; keep warm in the oven, say around 250 F.  Heat the remaining oil and saute shallots until softened, scraping up any browned bits.  Sprinkle with remaining flour, and add wine, chicken broth, and 1/2 tsp salt.  Bring to a boil and stir often; return the chicken to the pan.  Simmer and cook for 6 minutes, basting the chicken with the juices.  Stir in sour cream until incorporated in the mixture and turn the chicken to incorporate the sauce.  Pour chives on top and baste the sauce for a few minutes until chives are incorporated into the flavor of the sauce.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

adapted from here

2 thoughts on “Chicken Breasts with Creamy Chive Sauce

  1. Mmm i love that Creamy Chive Sauce idea! I have a huge chive plant in my garden but i always forget to included chives in recipes i make..guess now i’ve got a good motivation to make this recipe! – i’ll actually get to use some of those poor neglected chives! lol Thanks so much! 🙂

    1. Aw man, I wish I had used fresh chives!! When I went to the grocery store I couldn’t find any, so I had to use chives from my spice cabinet. I’m sure the flavor would be infinitely better!

      Let me know how it tastes if you try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

