Lemonade

20130616_164520

Happy Father’s Day!  Charlie has been working on the car all day long with his friend, Trey….hopefully they can get the car working again!  I thought I would make some homemade lemonade to make the work go by a little quicker 🙂

This recipe is a family recipe, one of many that my mom taught me years ago.  It’s a very easy recipe, but it just takes time to let everything cool.  Refreshing and perfect for a hot summer afternoon!

And yes, that is the view I see every day….pretty sweet, huh?  🙂

YIELD: 2 quarts plus a little extra

TIME: 2 hours 30 minutes

INGREDIENTS
2 cups sugar
1 cup water
rind from 2 lemons
juice from 5-6 lemons
2 quarts cold water

DIRECTIONS
Heat sugar, water, and lemon rind until boiling, and boil for 5 minutes.  Let cool, and add the lemon juice.  Strain into a small bowl, and pour syrup into a large pitcher.  Pour in enough water until consistency is reached (I tend to like my lemonade less watery, but that’s just me).

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

