Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Honey Cinnamon Frosting

20130614_012241

(I don’t know if you can see from here, but the cupcakes have watermelon tins!  Cutest ever, right?)

Last night I was just in one of those moods to do some late-night baking.  Don’t know why, but I have just always enjoyed baking in the wee hours of the night!  Charlie always has his gaming/anime/boy nights on Tuesday night, so since I figured I’d be staying up I thought I’d make cupcakes.  Plus, I promised the repair staff at The Music Shoppe that I’d make them treats 🙂

I haven’t made these cupcakes since college, with my good friend Sundari.  She would always come over and help me bake dinner…usually chicken curry, and then we’d bake cupcakes!  I remember we made the frosting and we had a little left over, so we just dipped the cupcake in the extra frosting.  OMG so good.

Making these a second time, Charlie requested I put chocolate chips in them.  I also doubled the recipe because I wanted to make enough for both of our workplaces.  I only had 6 ripe bananas I was able to use, but the cupcakes had plenty of banana taste to it!  Oddly enough, there was an excess of cupcake batter (I ended up making 24 cupcakes and 10 mini cupcakes) and I had just enough frosting to frost 24 cupcakes and 2 mini cupcakes.  I will also warn you that when you mix the butter and wet ingredients into the first part of the recipe, it looks really chunky with all of the butter.  However, once you add the dry ingredients it looks less strange.  I suppose you could melt the butter, but I think the cupcakes turn out better if you mix the butter softened.

These cupcakes are extremely moist and delicious!  I really enjoyed the addition of chocolate chips to this recipe—it adds a richness that compliments the light banana cake and honey frosting.  Hope you decide to make these!

YIELD: 28 cupcakes (I made 24 cupcakes + 10 mini cupcakes)

TIME: 2 hours

INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 stick butter
4 ripe bananas, mashed
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

1 stick butter
1-1/4 cups confectioner’s sugar
1 Tbsp honey (I eyeballed and tasted how much honey I wanted)
1/8 tsp cinnamon (again, eyeballed the amount of cinnamon I wanted)

cinnamon/sugar mixture

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 F and line a muffin tin with cupcake liners.  In a medium bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together.  In a stand mixer, mix butter, bananas, eggs, and vanilla extract together, mixing after each addition.  Gradually add dry ingredients until just mixed, and add chocolate chips.  Fill tins about 3/4 way full and bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes clean, switching from top to bottom racks halfway through.

While the cupcakes are cooling, cream butter with a handmixer in a medium bowl.  Gradually add the confectioner’s sugar until consistency is reached.  Add honey and cinnamon, mixing after each addition.  Pipe on cooled cupcakes and top with cinnamon/sugar mixture.  Consume immediately.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

adapted from here

Leave a Reply

