Raspberry Swirl Angel Food Cupcakes with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

20130604_131715

My parents are coming to town tomorrow, which I am so excited about!!  I’m one of those people that just loves being around family.  However, to prepare for my parents to get here….I have to clean my house until it is perfectly clean.  Which for a girl with 3 jobs, a boyfriend, and a cat, is not the easiest task in the world.  Luckily I got most of the work done yesterday, so I just have to finish up the dishes these cupcakes made and a few finishing touches!

Tonight is the Urbana Pops Concert cookout, to celebrate all of the student rehearsals and hard work that has been done the past week to prepare for the full rehearsals!  It’s been really fun working with these guys, and a new experience for me working sectional rehearsals with the lower strings!  So to celebrate, I baked these delicious cupcakes this morning 🙂

So, funny story about making these this morning!  I have never made this recipe before, so I assumed since usually a single batch of cupcakes makes 12, I thought I’d double the recipe.  Well, turns out a single batch of these cupcakes makes 24 +, so when I whipped the egg whites and extracts it nearly exploded out of my Kitchen Aid bowl!!  I ended up just halving the batter and using half of it to make my 20 cupcakes….so a word to the wise on this one, this recipe makes a lot of cupcakes.

These cupcakes will put your egg separation skills to the test!  When you swirl the raspberry jam into the batter, have fun with it!  I used a spatula, but a knife would probably work fine.

I tried one before I left for work today and they are SO yummy 🙂  They have the airy lightness of angel food cake, but the rich cream cheese frosting makes it a divine tasting dessert!

YIELD: 24-30 cupcakes

TIME: 1 hour 30 minutes

INGREDIENTS
12 egg whites
1-1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp salt
1-1/4 cups sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 cup cake flour
1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
1 cup seedless red raspberry jam

16 oz cream cheese
16 oz confectioner’s sugar
juice from 2 lemons
1 Tbsp lemon zest, from 1 lemon

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 F and line two muffin tins.  Whip egg whites, cream of tartar, and salt until soft peaks form.  Keep mixing and gradually add sugar until stiff peaks form.  Beat in the extracts and fold in flour and confectioner’s sugar, careful not to overmix.  Whisk the raspberry jam in a separate bowl until   liquid consistency is reached.  Pour into batter and swirl with a spatula or knife.  Scoop batter into muffin tins and bake for 8-10 minutes, until a toothpick comes out with crumbs or clean.  Let cool.

For the frosting, mix cream cheese until light and fluffy.  Gradually add confectioner’s sugar, and add lemon juice and zest until consistency is reached.

Pipe on cooled cupcakes and enjoy raspberry bliss.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

adapted from here

One thought on “Raspberry Swirl Angel Food Cupcakes with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

