Chicken Cordon Bleu

20130526_174821

 

Happy Memorial Day weekend, everyone!!  Charlie and I had some company over tonight for dinner—what lovely friends!  My plan was to grill some burgers or steaks outside on my cute little charcoal grill, but unfortunately the skies were gray and it was raining off and on.  So, plan B: chicken cordon bleu!

I ADORE Chicken Cordon Bleu.  First time I had this was when I was driving through Missouri with my mom, and we stopped at this mom & pop restaurant.  I thought I’d try something new, and my mom explained what chicken cordon bleu was.  Tried it, and it immediately became one of my most favorite foods….but unfortunately it is usually fried, not so awesome for my diet.

This recipe is not fried—it’s baked and breaded chicken cordon bleu!  And believe me, it tastes just as moist and perfect.  I made some additions to the original recipe I used, to add to the flavor I remembered from that first time I tried it.

Instead of soaking the entire rolled up chicken in the garlic mixture (thereby preventing any further disaster of the chicken falling apart), I just brushed the mixture on top of the chicken and pressed the breading on top.  Other than that, this recipe is pretty foolproof, provided you’re able to slice the chickens in half properly!

YIELD: 8 servings

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
1/4 cup chicken broth
2 Tbsp melted butter
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
1 tsp paprika
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground oregano
1/4 tsp pepper
8 slices swiss cheese
8 slices black forest ham
honey mustard

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 F, and heat up chicken broth for 15 seconds.  Add melted butter and garlic and set aside. Combine breadcrumbs, Parmesan, and paprika in a medium bowl and set aside.  Sprinkle salt, pepper, and oregano on each side of the sliced chicken and press into the chicken.  Top each breast half with 1 slice of ham, 1 slice of cheese, and drizzle honey mustard on top.  Roll up each half jelly roll-style, and brush chicken with the garlic mixture.  Dredge in the breadcrumb mixtures and place on a baking sheet.  Bake for 28 minutes, until the tops are golden.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

 

adapted from here

Leave a Reply

