Blackberry Lemonade

blackberry lemonade

So, funny story: I was at Walmart a few days ago buying some household supplies, and I thought I’d look through the produce section for fun.  Usually it’s such a joke, with the fruit having bruises on them, just bad looking fruits and vegetables.  But lo and behold, I found some beautiful looking blackberries!  Of course, I had to buy them….I knew I could make something delicious with these beautiful blackberries 🙂

I was organizing my recipes today and making tables of contents for all of my recipe books.  I came across this recipe, and had been wanting to make it for ages.  It’s definitely time-consuming and messy, so I wouldn’t recommend trying to make the lemonade while juggling cooking dinner.

When adding the blackberries, I smashed them with the back of my wooden spoon on the side of my pot and mixed them in.  When adding the lemon juice, I used half pre-packaged lemon juice and half lemons.  When pouring into the containers (I quadrupled the recipe, knowing how much Charlie and I love lemonade), I used a 4-cup measuring cup to scoop out the lemonade and used a strainer to get the seeds out.

It’s quite the ordeal, but it turned out fabulously!  There’s something about lemonade that just reminds me of spring/summertime.  Especially with this icky, cold, snowy weather, it’s helpful to have little friendly reminders every now and then 🙂

YIELD: a little over 6 quarts

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
4 cups sugar
4 cups water
1 cup fresh blackberries, washed
4 cups lemon juice (about 16 lemons)
16 cups water
sliced lemons, for garnish
blackberries, for garnish

DIRECTIONS
Cook sugar and water over medium heat until dissolved.  Add blackberries, crushing the berries with the back of a wooden spoon.  Add lemon juice into the pot, along with remaining water.  Using a strainer, pour mixture into containers, getting all of the seeds out.

Pour into glasses filled with ice and sliced lemons, if desired.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

