Garlic Mashed Potatoes

mashed potatoes

 

Garlic mashed potatoes!!  The sinful pleasure I so desire 🙂  Sadly, this is the first time I have ever made mashed potatoes. My mom never made mashed potatoes for us as kids, probably because they are so fattening.  But I thought I would give it a try, since I’ve always been curious how to make them!

I would recommend mixing the garlic mashed potatoes one last time with a mixer before serving….mine were a little chunky.  When I followed the recipe and tasted it, there was not enough garlic.  I added garlic powder to taste, but I’d recommend doubling the amount of crushed garlic so you get the natural garlic taste.  I didn’t make this with the chives, because Charlie doesn’t really like raw onions/green onions.  However, I’m sure the chives make it incredibly flavorful 🙂

YIELD: 4-6 servings

TIME: 45 minutes

INGREDIENTS
4 lb Yukon potatoes (10 potatoes), peeled and quartered
1-1/3 cup milk
2 garlic cloves smashed
3 tbsp butter
¼ cup sour cream
1 tbsp fresh chives + some for garnish
1 tsp salt
⅛ tsp ground pepper

DIRECTIONS
Placed washed & quartered potatoes in a medium pot, bring them to a boil and cook for 12-14 min until tender.  In a small pot bring to a boil 1⅓ cup of milk with 2 smashed garlic cloves. Remove from heat and let the mixture stand.  Drain and mash cooked potatoes using potato masher and hand mixer afterwards. Place potatoes back on the stove at medium heat, stirring constantly for 2 minutes until slightly dry, than remove from heat.  Add to potatoes and mix together 1⅓ cup of milk mixture, 3 tbsp of butter, ¼ cup of sour cream, 1 tsp of salt, ⅛ tsp pepper, 1 tsp of chives until well combined.  Mix until smooth.  Serve warm and sprinkle chives on top for garnish.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

recipe credit: http://natashaskitchen.com/2012/11/20/garlic-and-chive-mashed-potatoes/

One thought on “Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Leave a Reply

