Gyudon

20130121_215631

 

Today, I had the entire morning and afternoon off—what a joy that was!  I had time to sleep in, grocery shop, practice a little, watch Chuck reruns….the usual.  I thought today would be a good day to make Japanese food.

I am half Japanese, as I’ve probably mentioned in my other posts, and I learned how to cook traditional Japanese food from my mother and grandmother.  Here are some helpful guidelines when you make Japanese food:

1) Always make sticky rice, for any entree you’re cooking.  You’re cooking meat?  Miso soup?  Green tea?  Yeah, we love anything with rice.  Now, when you have a noodle soup, then rice is not necessary.

2) Add sugar to anything.  I would watch my grandmother cook Okazu as a kid (vegetable stew with pork added), and she would just take the whole bag of sugar and pour it in the pot.  My “WTF” face definitely showed, but when we ate the final product, we could taste the sweet goodness of the soy sauce and sugar mixed together in harmony.  When making sushi, you actually add sugar and vinegar with the rice so it’s sweet rice and sticks together well.  Maybe that’s why I’m such a sweet tooth, but I add sugar to any Japanese entree, no matter what.

3) Never rush through anything.  You want to make sure everything is cooked properly, and that you are in the kitchen paying attention to how long the food is cooked.  Now, if you know me—I’m a HUGE multi-tasker, so this proves to be difficult.  But it’s definitely worth it once you taste the finished product.

Gyudon is one of my absolute favorite dishes, but I have never had the pleasure of making it myself!  Usually any local Japanese restaurant does that laborious task for me.  After making it, seriously there is no excuse for me not to cook this again.  It literally took 15 minutes to make, and that’s being generous.  Sauteed beef + rice = delicious.

YIELD: 4 servings

TIME: 30 minutes (includes cooking time for rice)

INGREDIENTS
3 cups Japanese white rice
1 small yellow onion, sliced thinly (do not dice!)
peanut oil
1/2 cup water (I accidentally omitted this, and the Gyudon turned out just fine)
3 Tbsp soy sauce
3 Tbsp sweet rice wine
splash of Sake
1/2 lb thinly sliced beef
1 tsp grated ginger

DIRECTIONS
Cook the rice in a rice cooker.  Cook onions with enough peanut oil to cover the saute pan.  Mix water, soy sauce, rice wine, and Sake together; set aside.  Add beef to the skillet with the onions, and add sauce to skillet.  Simmer and arrange beef over rice in bowls.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

