Beef Stroganoff

beef stroganoff

 

My mom and I used to make this dish all the time when my dad and brother were gone.  They are lactose-intolerant, so we couldn’t ever have anything creamy and cheesy.  It was such a special time when my mom and I would make this….she taught me a lot about how to cook with love.

What I’d recommend is to make sure you cook the sauce long enough.  Generally my problem is that 1) I am STARVING when I make the food, and 2) I get impatient and just serve it immediately.  The sauce ended up turning out a little more watery and not as thick as I might like.  Read a book, watch a TV show, spend time with your boyfriend….just please, dear God, let that sauce thicken!!

YIELD: 4 servings

TIME: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS
1 1/2 to 2 pounds top sirloin roast, trimmed
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 tablespoons butter or margarine
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 cup beef bouillon or broth
1 medium onion, quartered and sliced
3 tablespoons sour cream, room temperature
1 package egg noodles

DIRECTIONS
Cut beef into thin bite-size strips, and set aside.  Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a medium saucepan. Blend in flour; gradually stir in beef broth, stirring and cooking until thickened and smooth. Heat remaining 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon olive oil in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Brown meat and onions along with salt and pepper, until onions are soft.  Add meat and onions to beef sauce, cover and cook on low for 10 minutes.  Stir in sour cream and heat through but do not boil.  Serve over egg noodles.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

