Peanut Butter Cookies

peanut butter cookies

 

Peanut butter cookies are my dad’s favorite cookie.  I suppose whenever I bake these cookies, I really miss my dad….when I still lived at home, I would always ask my dad what he’d want me to make.  His answer would always be: “Sara, I”ll eat whatever you make.  …but you know I love my peanut butter cookies!”  Although living away from my family is nice–being independent and all that, I still miss being at home with my family 😦

Alright, enough of that sappy stuff!  Personally, I’d recommend baking these cookies on the lower side (around 9-10 minutes) if you like your cookies chewy.  For the crisscross design, just press down the fork vertically on the cookie, horizontally, and VOILA!  You have a beautiful set of cookies!

YIELD: 24 cookies

TIME: 30-45 minutes

INGREDIENTS
1 cup sugar
1 stick butter, at room temperature
1 egg
1 cup smooth peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1-1/2 cups flour

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 375º F.  In a large bowl, cream sugar and butter together. Beat in egg to mixture. Mix in peanut butter and vanilla until smooth and creamy. Stir in salt, baking soda and flour until well combined. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and then roll in extra sugar. Place on baking sheet and flatten with fork to make a crisscross design. Bake for 12-15 minutes, and let cool.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

