Italian Sausage Soup

italian sausage soup

 

This soup has a pretty funny story.  The first time I made this soup was the 3rd week of dating Charlie.  Normally I don’t get back from work until 7 pm, so I thought I’d make this soup ahead of time so we could eat right when I got home!  I simply asked Charlie to watch my soup, make sure it didn’t burn down the house, etc etc.  3 hours later, while I’m at work, he texts me and says “Sara, I ruined your soup.”  Now, in my head I’m thinking: “Oh sweet Charlie!  He must just be trying to be nice.”  I arrived home, and looked at the soup, which had turned into mush.  I picked up a spoonful and it made a “plopping” noise.  I looked at Charlie, burst into laughter, and suggested we go out for sushi.

I made it a second time, and it turned out just fine!  I suppose it’s clearly not one of those soups to just let simmer.  My suggestion would be to strictly add the 1 cup of macaroni, maybe even less than that.  It’s a very hearty and delicious soup which can be served as an appetizer or entree!

YIELD: 4-6 servings

TIME: 1 hour 45 minutes

INGREDIENTS
8 cups chicken stock or broth
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp ground fennel
2 cans diced tomatoes with juice
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp. olive oil
5 links hot or sweet Italian sausage
1 onion, diced
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 cup macaroni
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
Grated Parmesan cheese, for serving

DIRECTIONS
Heat chicken stock or broth, and add the dried basil, ground fennel, and diced tomatoes with juice. Let the mixture simmer while you cook the sausage.

Heat 1 Tbsp of olive oil in a heavy frying pan.  Squeeze the sausage out of  casings and cook until nicely browned, breaking apart with a metal turner as the sausage cooks.  Add browned sausage to the soup pot.

Add the other tsp. of olive oil to the frying pan if needed, then saute the onions for 3-4 minutes, until softened.  Add the minced garlic and cook 1-2 minutes more.  Add the onion and garlic to the soup pot.  Let this simmer on low heat for 15-20 minutes.

Add the macaroni, stir, and continue to simmer the soup for 15-20 minutes more, or until the macaroni is soft.  Stir in the chopped fresh or frozen basil and cook 5 minutes more.  Serve hot, with freshly grated Parmesan cheese if desired.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

Leave a Reply

