Sour Cream Snickerdoodles

snickerdoodles

Earlier on in my blog, I posted an entry on snickerdoodles, traditionally with cream of tartar.  However, these stood out to me because they have sour cream!  I bought the sour cream because of the mashed potatoes I made the day before.  Since Charlie mentioned his coworkers seemed to be a little on the grumpy side, I thought I would cheer them up by making these cookies!

What I loved about these were that they were more fluffy than my other snickerdoodles!  Funny story, I misread my directions in the recipe and added 1-1/2 cups sugar instead of the 1 cup.  I thought the batter would be too dry, but it turned out great!  The batter is a little on the sticky side, so you might have to wash your hands a few times in between cookie sheets.

YIELD: 3 dozen cookies

TIME: 45 minutes

INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 cup  sugar
1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
1 egg, at room temperature
1 egg yolk, at room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup sour cream
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
cinnamon and sugar, mixed together in a small bowl

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 F.  Cream butter and sugar together, and add egg, egg yolk, and vanilla extract.  Stir in sour cream; add dry ingredients to mixture.  Roll dough into little balls, roll in cinnamon/sugar mixture, and place on non-stick baking sheets.  Bake for 8-10 minutes, until golden brown on the bottom of the cookie.  Let cool and serve with a cold glass of milk.

Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo, Sara

recipe credit: http://www.evilshenanigans.com/2011/06/sour-cream-snickerdoodles/

Leave a Reply

